Why and How To Advertise Your Apps On Google Adwords-
Google Apps Advertising
Why Do Apps Matter
More than 90% of smartphone owners say they use apps
With apps, brands are able to build and maintain a direct, one-on-one relationship with their customer base
As the number of mobile users grows each year, connecting with consumers on mobile web and apps is a big opportunity for businesses.
Facts to consider about apps:
-Companies are building apps to deliver smooth and engaging experiences for their valued customers — and the results are paying off — with downloads and consumer spend within apps seeing strong growth.
-People reach for their mobile devices constantly throughout the day and expect helpful information and a useful interface every time.
-Apps can be both useful and entertaining
Shopping apps generate 3x conversion rates than mobile web, have higher average order values, and have lower abandonment rates. According to Criteo, time in shopping apps globally grew to 18 billion hours in 2018, up 45% from 2016.
According to TechCrunch, more than 1.6 million games were launched on Google Play and 1.1 million on iOS in the last year, which make mobile games the most downloaded app type on Android and iOS.
Over half of consumers use mobile apps when shopping in-store, according to Yes Marketing.
If you are wondering whether an app would be useful for you and your customers, aswer to the following questions:
- What unique utility does the app provide to consumers?
- Does the app serve a specific role in the customer journey vs. other channels like web or in-store?
- What impact does a successful app have on the business?
When lunching a new app you want the users to easily find what they ae looking for on their mobile devices, but you also want to keep the engagement as high as when the app has been firstly been downloaded. Stats are shown that the percentage of app being churned within 3 months is around 80%. One of your marketing goals would be the discoverability, always new customers finding via app ads or on google playstore, and engagement that will increase you customers life time value, producing you more income.
Why You Should Consider Advertising Your Apps On Google
App campaigns are an automated ad type in Google Ads designed to help advertisers drive app installs and in-app conversions across all of Google’s inventory.
-With Google App campaigns, you promote your app across exclusive inventory such as Google Search, Play, YouTube, Discover and over 3 million sites and apps in our network. Google App campaigns have delivered more than 17 billion app installs, and Google is now the #1 network for app installs, according to AppsFlyer.
-Google can deliver relevant ads to users based on more inputs than ever before. In addition to traditional signals like age and gender, Google can now include signals like app session duration, app settings, search queries, and location..
-Google App campaigns simplify ad creation. Content from your Google Play and Apple App Store listings is pulled to design a variety of ad formats. All you need to do is add a few lines of text. The system then tests combinations to create ads that work best, at the right time. Data-driven systems realize your campaign goals at scale, in real time, with minimal input, which means no more time-consuming manual test-and-iterate period.
How Machine Learning Can Simplify, Automate Your Marketing Making Yoru Work More Efficient
As a marketer you certainly want to focus on your strategies and how to advertise more efficiently. Let the machines find the right relevant audience, segment your audience, search for look alike audience,measure performance combine different elements such as ad copy, widgets etc to help you optimize and scale up faster.
How To Define Your App Campaign Goal
Your goals may differ according to your app
You should consider define your goals based on the stage your app is in. There a 3 main stages : The launche phase, the growth and the maturity phase.
Concerning the launch phase, you probably want to focus on driving app installs. At the growth and maturity stage you probably want to drive sales, or in app events through your app, and customers to perform certain actions, become more engaged and increase the customers life time value.
How To Measure Your App Campaigns Results
Before starting advertisement and having defined your goal, you need to collect all the most important data so that you can optimize and build more successful app ads. For this purpose you need how to do conversion tracking properly. (a conversion is an action being taken such as a purchase, in app install etc).
Ways to do tracking
You need to find a tracking tool. All apps need an SDK to track in-app behavior for attribution and ROI calculations, although the SDK may work differently in each app. Implementing an SDK helps make measurement more consistent and reliable. You can you use 1 of the following options:
Google Analytics For Firebase SDK
Firebase is Google’s app development platform and has 18 products, one of them being Google Analytics for Firebase, our best-in-class app analytics tool. It measures in-app behavior and enables you to make informed decisions regarding app marketing and performance optimizations.
Codeless tracking With Google Playstore
This is the most basic tracking solution, which only tracks Android app installs and in-app purchases made through the Google Play store. It doesn’t require editing an app’s code or using a third-party analytics tool.
Step 2: Link your analytics provider with your Google Ads account
The next step in making conversion tracking actionable is to link your analytics to your Google Ads account.
- Working with Google Analytics for Firebase? Take a look at this Google Ads Help article for instructions on linking to your Google Ads account.
- Working with an app attribution partner? Refer to this Google Ads Help article for instructions on linking to your Google Ads account.
Step 3: Import your data to Google Ads
Once you’ve linked your analytics provider with Google Ads, the next step is to import your conversion data to power your campaign insights and performance going forward.
- Working with Google Analytics for Firebase? Take a look at this Google Ads Help article to learn more about importing app conversion data.
- Working with an app attribution partner? Refer to this Google Ads Help article to learn more about importing app conversion data.
In order for Google to collect enough data and optimize your conversion goals, you need to collect around 300 unique conversion events over the period of 30 days
Learn more about the steps you need to take to integrate analytics and google ads
How To Set Up Your App Campaign
Firstly you need to define your goal and he events you want to trigger and you conversion tracking.
We are going o focus on new app installs and in app actions.
Steps: Go to google ads and
- click on new campaign
- App promotion
- App installs ( or App engagement, and App pre-registration)
- Select the mobile app’s platform. ( Google or Ios)
- Search you app below in the search bar
- Select continue
Select campaign setting:
- Enter a campaign name
- Choose your location(s) you want to target, your language and budget
How bidding works
You can choose one of the two options: All users and users likely to perform an action
For all users, the bidding will be optimized for users that are more likely to perform an action based on
target cost-per-install (tCPI) The artificial intelligence will use the outcome of past auctions to predict the likelihood of an install and adjust bids accordingly, with the intent to acquire users at your tCPI.
For the second option, the machine will optimize for customers more likely to perform an in app action
If your goal is in-app actions, the campaign will optimize for tCPA. The system will use selected in-app event outcomes of past auctions to predict the likelihood of the number of in-app events to occur and adjust bids accordingly, with the intent to acquire users completing that event at your tCPA.
Set up your bidding , choose your start and end dates
Tips for bidding:
– Google recommends that the daily budget should be at least 50 times the target CPI. So if your target CPI is $2, set a budget that’s at least $100, and a daily budget should be at least 10 times the target CPA. So if your target CPA is $20, set a budget that’s at least $200.
-If you already have a target CPI or CPA, use that as a starting bid for your campaign.
– Consider how much the specific conversion event is worth to your business.
– It’s best to wait until an automated campaign accumulates at least 100 conversions before making any bid changes. Do not change the bidding frequently
– In Google Ads, the default conversion window for installs is 30 days, and the default conversion window for in-app events is 90 days
For accurate targeting, assets are organized in ad groups around a specific theme, audience, or message. Ad creatives are only created from combinations of assets within an ad group
One of the key ways that machine learning powers app campaigns is by using individually-added assets to auto-generate ads.
Uploading a diverse mix of assets allows the system to learn and improve performance. Assets can be added into Google Ads manually by advertisers or auto-generated from content within the app’s Google Play and Apple App Store listings.
Guidelines for the 4 types of ad assets:
Text assets are short lines of text about your app that appear in ads across Google Search, Play, and YouTube, and in the more than three million sites and apps in our network. There are two types of text lines in App campaigns: headlines and description lines.
Headlines: Headlines are not app titles, but text that highlights the key feature of the app. Headlines should be standalone sentences that end with punctuation. To learn more, check out our advertising policies.
Max count: Each ad group can have two to five headlines, with up to 30 characters in each.
Description lines: Description lines are longer text, with more in-depth detail about your app. Description text ideas should educate, inform, avoid generic language, and take full advantage of character lengths.
Max count: Each ad group may have one to five description lines, with up to 90 characters in each.
Image assets are images used in ads to represent your app on over three million sites and apps in our network.
Max count: Each ad group can have up to 20 images.
- Images can be .jpg or .png, with a maximum size of 150KB.
- Image assets can be either landscape (1.91:1) or square (1:1)
Video assets are video clips that appear in ads across YouTube and over three million sites and apps in our network.
Max count: Each ad group can have up to 20 videos.
- Videos must be hosted on YouTube.
- Orientation can be landscape, portrait, or square.
- Videos of varying length and aspect ratios will reach users in different formats.
- If no video is uploaded, Google Ads may use assets from your app store listing to make a video ad for your campaign.
HTML5 assets are snippets of code used to create interactive ads. The HTML5 ad is typically a full screen ad, or interstitial, and may be paired with other assets from your app store listing page to create ads on over three million sites and apps in our network. Consider uploading the maximum number of other asset types before building for HTML5.
Max count: Each ad group may have up to 20 HTML5 assets.
- Use the HTML5 Validator tool to validate HTML5 assets before uploading.
- HTML5 sizes currently accepted include:
- 300×250 (fixed size)
- 320×50 (fixed size)
- 480×320 (landscape interstitial, variable size)
- 320×480 (portrait interstitial, variable size)
You can create your animated banners using the Google’s free software webdesigner.
Evaluating an asset’s performance metrics:
There is no need for a/b testing since all the creatives are being used . Follow the performance score , keep the ones that perfom the best and pause the ones that are in the low.
The final step for your campaign is to upload your assets and add your headlines and descriptions.